The world’s smallest countries
credits: Pixabay

The world’s smallest countries

There are 196 countries in the world. Only 24 of them has land area less than 1000 square kilometers. Some of these small countries including Vatican City, Monaco and Nauru are smaller than cities like New York, Tokyo, Chicago and Atlanta. Here the list of 10 smallest countries on Earth.


The Vatican City is the smallest country in the world, surrounded by the city of Rome. This small country covers just an area of 100 acres. Vatican city is also known ‘The Holy See’. The Vatican is also least populous country in the world, has only 842 inhabitants. St.Peter’s basilica – The largest Catholic church in the world also located in Vatican city.

The principality of Monaco located in Western Europe is the second smallest country in the world with land area of 2 square kilometers. But this small country has a population of 36950 and this make it most densely populated country in the world. Monaco is a constitutional monarchy headed by the members of Grimaldi family. This small country has only one municipality. In that way Monaco is both an Independent Nation and a city.

Nauru is the smallest Island country in the world with an area of 21 square kilometers. Nauru is also the second most least populous country in the world, only has 9378 inhabits. It is a great phosphate rock Island. The extraction of this valuable resource became the main source of income for country between 1960 and 1970. But the excessive mining leads to depletion of the great resource. This Island nation is surrounded by coral reefs and known for white-sandy beaches. But tourism in Nauru is limited. The phosphate mining, coconut products and offshore banking are the main industries in Nauru.

The small Tuvalu nation consists of five atolls and four Islands, located in the Western Pacific. There are only 11000 inhabitant in this tony Island nation.  Tuvalu is one of the lowest countries in the world. The highest point of this small nation is about 4.5 meters from mean sea level. This makes the small Islands of Tuvalu to vulnerable to sea level rise.

With a land area of 61 square kilometers San Marino is the third smallest country in Europe. This small country is entirely surrounded by Italy. San Marino is also the oldest republic in Europe, founded in 301 A.D. San Marino only has a population of 30000. The country has nine municipalities and the city of San Marino is the capital. San Marino is also one of the richest country in the world in accordance with GDP. San Marino is also famed for having more vehicles than its population. The economy of San Marino mainly based on tourism, banking and textiles.

Liechtenstein is a small Alpine country located between Austria and Switzerland. This tiny national only has a land area of 160 square kilometers and a population of 37132. It is the only country in the world that is entirely located in the Alps. Liechtenstein has 11 municipalities and Schaan is the largest city in the country with a land area of 25 square kilometers.

This small Caribbean country has a total land area of 261 square kilometers, St. Kitts is 168 square kilometers and Nevis is 93 square kilometers. Today the country has a population of 51538. Both Islands are famed for their pristine beaches, green valleys rain forests and pleasant climate. The economy of the country is mainly based on sugar cultivation and tourism.

The Maldives archipelago located in the Indian ocean comprises 1090 Islands in total. But there is only 200 inhabited Islands in Maldives. This beautiful country only has a land area of 298 square kilometers and a population of 3,93,500. Many Islands of Maldives appear to be only 1.5 meters above mean sea level. This low ground level elevation makes Maldives as the lowest country in the world.

The Marshal Islands comprise hundreds of Islands and thousands of Islets connected by 29 coral atolls. There are only 24 inhabited Islands with a population  of 68000. The Marshal Islands were occupied by Spanish, German, Japanese, British and Americans in between the 16th century and 20th century. Marshal Islands gained Independence in 1986 under  the compact of free association with the United States.

Malta is an archipelago of seven Islands located in the Mediterranean sea. This small country only has an area of 316 square kilometers. Only three Islands named Malta, Gozo and Comino are inhabited in this archipelago. These three Islands are also the largest Islands in Malta. The country has a population of 4,46,547, make it one of the densely populated countries in the world.


As travellers know well, size doesn’t really matter, since we can live our best adventures in the most unusual, minimal spots. Are you ready to go?


The Mysterious World

About Us Privacy Policy Cancellation Policy Affiliate Program Partner area Press Contact RSS